17 Jan

Summer, The Greatest Showman & More Win 2018 Chita Rivera Awards

first_img View Comments Kick up your heels! Winners have been announced for the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards, honoring the best in dance during the 2017-2018 theater and film seasons. Winners include Summer: The Donna Summer Musical choreographer Sergio Trujillo and star Ariana DeBose, Prince of Broadway standout Tony Yazbeck and the ensembles of Carousel and Mean Girls. Film winners of note include The Greatest Showman star Hugh Jackman and choreographers Shannon Holtzapffel and Ashley Wallen. Tony-nominated Broadway couple Andy Karl and Orfeh emceed the Chita Rivera Awards ceremony, held at NYU’s Skirball Center on May 20.As previously announced, the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards also honored actress, dancer and choreographer Carmen De Lavallade with the second annual Lifetime Achievement Award, iconic composer John Kander with the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater Award and legendary theater director and producer Harold Prince with the SDC Director Award for Exemplary Collaboration with Choreographers. Additionally, Steven Hoggett, choreographer of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and Angels in America, received the inaugural Douglas and Ethel Watt Critics’ Choice Award.Find the full list of 2018 Chita Rivera Award winners below in bold and preceded by an asterisk.THEATER AWARDSOutstanding Choreography in a Broadway ShowCamille A. Brown, Once On This IslandChristopher Gattelli, SpongeBob SquarePantsCasey Nicholaw, Mean GirlsJustin Peck, Carousel*Sergio Trujillo, Summer: The Donna Summer MusicalOutstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show*Carousel (tie)*Mean Girls (tie) Once On This IslandSpongeBob SquarePantsSummer: The Donna Summer MusicalOutstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway ShowNorbert Leo Butz, My Fair LadyAndrei Chagas, CarouselGavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePantsAmar Ramasar, Carousel*Tony Yazbeck, Prince of BroadwayOutstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway ShowYesenia Ayala, Carousel*Ariana DeBose, Summer: The Donna Summer MusicalHailey Kilgore, Once On This IslandKatrina Lenk, The Band’s VisitSkye Mattox, CarouselAshley Park, Mean GirlsBrittany Pollack, CarouselOutstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway ShowNejla Yatkin, The Boy Who Danced on AirSonya Tayeh, Hundred Days*Zach Morris & Jennine Willet, Ghost LightChris Bailey, Jerry Springer: The OperaMonica Bill Barnes, One Night OnlyOutstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway ShowAnna Bass, One Night Only*Monica Bill Barnes, One Night OnlyElizabeth Carena, Ghost LightTiffany Mann, Jerry Springer: The OperaKenita R. Miller, BellaOutstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway ShowColin Campbell, Disco Pigs*Robert Fairchild, FrankensteinTroy Iwata, The Boy Who Danced on AirEvan Ruggiero, Bastard JonesNikhil Saboo, The Boy Who Danced on AirFILM AWARDSTheatrical ReleaseBasmati Blues—stars Brie Larson, Donald Sutherland and Tyne Daly; choreographers Noemie LaFrance, Rajeev, Dimple Ganguly, Vijay Ganguly and Ryan HeffingtonFinding Your Feet—stars Imelda Staunton, Timothy Spall and Joanna Lumley; choreographer Mark JenningsHello Again—choreographer Todd UnderwoodPolina, danser sa vie—star Juliette Binoche; choreographer Angelin Preljocaj*The Greatest Showman—star Hugh Jackman; choreographers Shannon Holtzapffel and Ashley WallenDocumentariesStep—directed by Amanda LipitzBobbi Jene—directed by Elvira Lind*Anatomy of a Male Ballet Dancer—directed by David Barba and James Pelleritolast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *