16 Sep

GT Panthers sneak past Beacons

first_imgNewcomer GT Panthers squeaked past Beacons while Buxton Stars and Northern Rangers tussled to a stalemate on Tuesday in the 4th annual Limacol Football Championship at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue. GT Panthers overcame Beacons via a 2-1 scoreline. The cagey affair only witnessed one conversion in the first half as Vincent Thomas found the back of the net in the seventh minute to hand GT Panthers the lead.The small gathering which descended on the venue had to wait until the 85th minute to witness another conversion compliments of an Anson Lynch conversion which pushed the score to 2-0.Beacons would eventually record a consolation goal in the 90th minute as Rawle Adams netted. Meanwhile, Buxton Stars and Northern Rangers battled to a 3-3 stalemate. The match witnessed an unlikely come from behind result as Buxton Stars overturned a two goal deficit to earn a hard-fought point. Jumali Major commenced the high-scoring clash with a 14th minute effort to hand Buxton the lead.This proved to be the only conversion for the East Coast Demerara unit in the first period, as Northern Rangers recorded three unanswered goals to seize control of the clash at 3-1.Keith Caines made his presence felt in the 29th minute to level proceedings before Akeel Pinheiro pushed Rangers into the lead with a 32nd minute conversion. The lead was further strengthened in the 42nd minute as Anthony Sancho etched his name on the scorer’s sheet. However, the second period witnessed the comeback effort from the Buxtonians, with Neil Hutson reducing the deficit as he made his presence felt in the 56th minute.Shemar Scott then sealed the comeback, lashing his effort into the back of the net in the 67th minute.Up to press time, another doubleheader was underway at the same venue. Pele was slated to battle the Guyana Police Force from 19:00hrs while Mahaica was scheduled to lock horns with Dynamics FC at 21:00hrs.The event, which features 16 clubs from Georgetown, East Coast of Demerara, East Bank of Demerara and West Demerara, will conclude on October 12th.The teams are divided into four groups of four with the top two finishers from each section progressing to the knockout round. Group A comprises Santos U20, Camptown, Black Pearl and Grove Hi-Tech while Fruta Conquerors U20, Buxton Stars, GFC and Northern Rangers make up Group B. Group C, meantime, features Riddim Squad, Pouderoyen, Eastveldt and Beacons, with Group D containing Dynamic FC, Mahaica, Police B and Pele.The winner of the event will pocket $400,000 and the championship trophy, while the second, third and fourth place finishers will collect $200,000, $100,000 and $50,000 respectively.Complete ResultsGame 1 GT Panthers-2 Vs Beacons-1GT Panthers scorersVincent Thomas-7th Anson Lynch-85thBeacons scorerRawle Adams-90th Game 2Buxton Stars-3 Vs Northern Rangers-3Buxton scorers Jumali Major-14thNeil Hutson-56thShemar Scott-67th Rangers scorersKeith Caines-29thAkeel Pinheiro-32ndAnthony Sancho-42thlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *