2 Aug

Two Galway hurlers nominated for All-Stars

first_imgTherecently crowned champions are represented in every area of the field andreceived two more nominations than the Kilkenny team they beat in the final,whose season is rewarded with nine. 2019All-Ireland kingpins, Tipperary, lead the way in the list of PwC All-Starhurling nominations with 11 names on the short-list of 45 players. print WhatsApp Facebook Twitter Emailcenter_img Leinster champions Wexford have been honoured with eight nominations while Laois’ Joe McDonagh Cup winning season is acknowledged with two nominations as goalkeeper Enda Rowland and defender Jack Kelly make the cut after a campaign that also included a championship win over provincial rivals Dublin. Galway also get two nominations with Cathal Mannion and Conor Whelan in the shortlist.In all, eight counties make the cut with two awards each also for Cork, and Dublin to round off the list.In a 12-month period of major change at the top, only sixof last year’s All-Star winning players make this year’s nominations list.Those six are Eoin Murphy, Seán Finn, Graeme Mulcahy, Patrick Horgan, CianLynch and Richie English.Also announced today were the three nominees for both thePlayer of the Year and Young Player of the Year Awards for hurling.Tipperary All-Ireland winning captain Séamus Callanan,Cork’s Patrick Horgan and TJ Reid of Kilkenny are all shortlisted.Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny), Kyle Hayes (Limerick) and RoryO’Connor (Wexford) are the three selected for the young player’s award.The final selection of 15 players will be made late nextmonth and all players will be honoured at a banquet in Dublin on Friday, November1.Iomáint 2019GoalkeepersEoin Murphy (Kilkenny)Enda Rowland (Laois)Brian Hogan (Tipperary)DefendersChris Crummey (Dublin)Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny)Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny)Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny)Jack Kelly (Laois)Seán Finn (Limerick)Mike Casey (Limerick)Richie English (Limerick)Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)Ronan Maher (Tipperary)Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)Brendan Maher (Tipperary)Barry Heffernan (Tipperary) Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)-3-Paudie Foley (Wexford)Liam Ryan (Wexford)MidfieldersCathal Mannion (Galway)Cian Lynch (Limerick)William O’Donoghue (Limerick)Noel McGrath (Tipperary)Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)Kevin Foley (Wexford)ForwardsAlan Cadogan (Cork)Patrick Horgan (Cork)Conor Whelan (Galway)TJ Reid (Kilkenny)Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)John Donnelly (Kilkenny)Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny)Kyle Hayes (Limerick)Peter Casey (Limerick) Aaron Gillane (Limerick)Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)Jason Forde (Tipperary)Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)John McGrath (Tipperary)Rory O’Connor (Wexford)Lee Chin (Wexford)Conor McDonald (Wexford)Player Of theYear NomineesPatrick Horgan (Cork)TJ Reid (Kilkenny)Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)Young Player of the Year NomineesAdrian Mullen (Kilkenny)Kyle Hayes (Limerick)Rory O’Connor (Wexford)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *